Log in

Cedar Valley Makers

Board of Directors

Meet the Team

President - Taylor Morris

Taylor Morris is a Navy veteran who was wounded in action after seven years of service. Upon a medical retirement he started full-time at the University of Northern Iowa pursuing a degree in business management. He has a passion for innovation, entrepreneurship, and education, and has been an active member with The Cedar Valley Makers since early 2014.

Vice President -  James T. Dietrich, Ph.D.

James is an assistant professor of geography at UNI and has been a member of the makerspace since 2017. James enjoys making things for his environmental research and also just for fun. James has a wide range of experience and interest with Python programming, electronics, 3D printing, as well as wood and metalworking. 

Treasurer - Danny Laudick 

Danny has a passion for building communities.  His eclectic interests range from art and design to engineering and economics, which led him to help co-found and grow the Cedar Valley Makers since 2015.  He is also the cofounder & Executive Director of Red Cedar, a regional entrepreneurial support organization, and a constant learner of everything interesting.

CVM Director and Secretary - Michael Hoffman

Michael Hoffman has a BS in Management and Finance and a Masters of Business Administration.  Work experience includes human resource management,  project management, and risk management.  Michael has a long list of maker projects and interests, which include programming, digital design, CNC, 3dprinting, woodworking, metal shop, and welding, and loves to help others create.

Shop Manager - Pete Lilja

Pete is a retired Waterloo Firefighter and a longtime maker of things. His interests are varied and hobbies have been many: from high powered rockets and high altitude balloons to fly fishing the activities always have a component to making in them. He enjoys looking for a new skill to develop and something new to make. 

Dan Rieger - Board Member

Dan joined the Cedar Valley Makers as an active member in 2016.  Since then, he has played an important role in upholding the mission of CVM.  Dan brings industry experience from his work at John Deere as a Manufacturing Engineer where he is responsible for relevant projects including assembly line layout planning, asset acquisition, and the implementation of drive train design changes.  Dan is a 2011 graduate from UNI with a BS in Manufacturing Technology with an emphasis in Design.

Call or Email Us

(319) 427-2030



Techworks Campus
Tech1 Building, 3rd floor
360 West Field, Ave.
Waterloo, Iowa, 50701

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software